Allendale Board of Education Names Michael Maycroft to Fill Vacant Trustee Seat

Maycroft will complete a vacated term expiring December 31, and is among six candidates seeking two school board positions on November ballot

Mike Maycroft

Michael Maycroft

The Allendale Board of Education has selected Michael Maycroft to serve as a trustee for the remainder of Jim Crawley’s term, ending December 31, 2016.  Mr. Crawley resigned because he is moving out of the school district. The board selected Mr. Maycroft following interviews with five of the seven persons who submitted a letter of interest for the vacated seat. He will be sworn in as trustee on Friday, August 26 and begin immediately serving as trustee.

“Mr. Maycroft is a respected Grand Rapids Police Captain who brings leadership and public service experience to our board,” said Christopher Breen, President. “In addition, he has served our schools in a professional capacity and as a parent volunteer. We look forward to working with him during the coming months.”

Michael Maycroft is Commander of the North Service Area for the Grand Rapids Police Department where he has served for 19 years. He is a Bomb Squad Technician, Honor Guard Commander and Grand Rapids Police Command Officers’ Association president.  He has also served as president of the Gerald R. Ford Fraternal Order of Police Lodge #97.

“I am humbled to be selected from such a quality group of candidates,” Mr. Maycroft said. “I look forward to serving the district in its continuing mission to educate, inspire, and support the students and staff of the Allendale Public Schools.”

Mr. Maycroft and his wife, Jennifer, have two daughters who attend Allendale Public Schools.  He has been a resident of the district for 12 years. Mr. Maycroft also volunteers as a member of the District Crisis Team.

Mr. Maycroft is also among six candidates who are seeking one of two seats on the Allendale Board of Education in the November general election. Mr. Maycroft’s seat will be up for election and trustee Jennifer Coffey is not returning to the board.

Michael Maycroft, Jeanine Gasper, Julie Hartz, Roger Modderman, Nelson Morren, and Josh Thurkettle will all appear on the November ballot as candidates for the Allendale Board of Education. The winning candidates will each serve a six-year term on the school board.

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Please help us keep this blog family-friendly by using appropriate language in your comment.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Create a free website or blog at

%d bloggers like this: